If you’re a fellow procrastinator you know this struggle. The fear of not completing a task in the back of your mind while you continue to binge watch that entire series you have already watched a couple of times. It’s when you know exactly what you need to do in your head but you feel paralysed to actually completing the task in front of you.

Procrastination is, at least for me a sign that I’m mentally exhausted. To me it means that something is not right. I might have been blind to the real problem myself, but when I relapse I find it easy to understand myself a little bit better.

A lot of people can say, “Just do it”, “You’re being lazy”, but what they don’t see is the reason behind why you can’t ‘just do it’. It’s a cry for help that people fail to recognise. Even my loved ones do not understand. Yes, you can say that I’m making another excuse, maybe you’re absolutely right and maybe that’s exactly what I am doing. If letting people understand my reasons even a bit is an excuse, then so be it.

The reason why I decided to write this, is because I have been in a cycle of procrastination lately. I wake up, with a full determination but by the time I sleep, I see that I haven’t completed anything that I wanted to do. I  have led another fruitless day away from any real productivity and that sets an undertone of negativity for the next day which is something that again, gets you down.

When I say I know techniques to tackle this, I really do. The whole eating the elephant, and the pomodoro technique to study, are things I’m quite familiar with. Let me tell you they work extremely well. However, despite knowing all of this, I feel emotionally stuck and imbalanced to actually do anything about my little problem at this time period.

I need a lot more help than someone shouting in my ear, “DO IT, DO IT, DO IT”. I need someone to understand where I’m coming from and help me by actually helping me. It might be nothing to most but I feel like I do my best work when I have a clear mind and when I feel that I’m no longer shackled by the chains of procrastination.

P.S : Any tips on how to fight it will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

